List of 34 Provinces and 7 major islands in Indonesia Completely

Indonesia is also called the Republic of Indonesia or the Unitary State of the Republic of Indonesia (NKRI). Indonesia is a country in Southeast Asia crossed by the equator and is located between 2 continents of Asia and Australia, as well as between the Pacific and Indian Oceans.

Indonesia is an archipelago with 7 major islands and thousands of medium islands to other small islands. Therefore, Indonesia is called a maritime country because most of its territory is water.

List of 7 major islands in Indonesia

List of 7 major islands in Indonesia

For more details Here are 5 big islands in Indonesia as well as 2 large archipelago in Indonesia:

Kalimantan (Borneo) Island

List of 5 Provinces of Kalimantan Island (Borneo):

  1. Central Kalimantan
  2. South Kalimantan
  3. North Kalimantan
  4. West Kalimantan
  5. East Kalimantan

Sumatra Island

List of 10 Provinces of Sumatra:

  1. Special Region of Aceh
  2. North Sumatra
  3. South Sumatra
  4. West Sumatra
  5. Riau
  6. Riau Islands
  7. Jambi
  8. Bangka Belitung Islands
  9. Bengkulu
  10. Lampung

Nusa Tenggara Islands

List of 3 provinces of Sulawesi

  1. West Nusa Tenggara
  2. East Nusa Tenggara
  3. Bali


List of 6 Provinces of Java:

  1. East Java
  2. Central Java
  3. Special Region of Yogyakarta (DIY)
  4. Jakarta
  5. West Java
  6. Banten

Maluku Islands

List of 2 provinces in Maluku Islands

  1. Maluku
  2. North Maluku

New Guinea

List of 2 provinces of Papua

  1. Papua
  2. West Papua

Sulawesi Island

List of 6 provinces of Sulawesi

  1. South East Sulawesi
  2. West Sulawesi
  3. East Sulawesi
  4. South Sulawesi
  5. North Sulawesi
  6. Gorontalo

That’s the complete list of 34 provinces and 7 major islands in Indonesia, hopefully useful. Thank you for visiting. - 1 January 2021

Reader Interactions

Berikan komentar bro/sist